Court in the Act

It was a strange day today.  Despite the fact that something resembling daylight happens here, I still haven’t adjusted to a normal diurnal cycle.  It has been some while since I left London, but my body clock is still feeling the effects of the perpetual night there.  Popular lore would have it that I should only be awake at night, but that doesn’t seem to happen either. But then, I never really set much store by the demands of the clock, other than making sure I got back to port before the ship left.  I suppose that is part of me that is seeping into Edmund’s reactions in the last chapter.  In his case, however, it is just a small part of the larger tyranny he is escaping.  For all that, I did nap for a while after penning the latest chapter.

In the afternoon, I woke up again and wandered down to the tavern.  Aoibheann was there, apparently with her head attached, which I did remark upon.  She seemed amused, but also worried, mostly, it would seem, about the arrangements for the Samhain party. I told her I would help as much as I could.  For now, this would consist of helping with the advertising.  She liked the posters I had designed, so I spent the afternoon finding places to display them.  One went on the pillar outside the tavern, of course, and another on the castle gates.  I then posted one at the end of the bridge from the docks and the last one on one of the trees down to the west of the docks, where there are a number of houses.  That much effort was sufficient for the day, so I retreated to a quiet spot, there to nap, and to consider Edmund’s further adventures.

There was a court held in the evening.  I only heard about it quite late, so things had already started by the time I got to the castle.  I knew most of the faces there, aside from a tiny fae, by the name of Remy.  She was a princess of sorts, in her own realm, who had gotten separated from her parents after escaping from human invaders.  The queen seemed quite taken with her and offered her the chance to be looked after by Anna, apparently the favoured person for child care on the island. She also revealed something about herself.  Presumably for the benefit of the child, her appearance changed, and she took on the appearance of the sidhe.  It was as though she had let a glamour slip.  I can’t say I was altogether surprised, and, in truth, was somewhat relieved, for I am more used to the royalty of the fae than any other sort.  The king seemed not unfamiliar with fae matters, as he promised to seek the child’s parents on something he called “the full moon run”, implying that he would be visiting that realm the following day.  Most interesting indeed.

Nobody else seemed to have pressing matter with the court, though the young man, Emanuel, did ask if he could take over the running of the bookshop. Both the king and queen seemed pleased, and the king asked if he required a loan to pay the licence for the shop.  Emanuel indicated that this would not be necessary, but that did remind me of business I had with the king.  When he asked if anybody else had business, I requested a private meeting when convenient, presumably after he has taken care of his full moon business.

Court being over, I retired from the castle. Back down at the tavern, I found some joker had uprooted all my posters and returned them.  It was too late to do anything about it, so I shall have words with the queen and replace them on the morrow.

Leave a Reply

