A Dragon, a Wolf and a Duck Walk Into a Bar, with a Raven and a Peacock

I think we can count the displaced Samhain/Halloween party a success. There was quite a crowd, all the royals turned up and a good time was had by all.  We even made a profit on the evening.

Gwyn was the first to show, dressed somewhat sparingly as a ragamuffin fairy. Aoibheann showed up around the same time and they went upstairs to get her dressed in her outfit while I sorted out the furniture and stuff.

Guests started to trickle in.  The man called Cristof arrived dressed as a knight from the Crusades.  There is something tantalisingly familiar about the man; I wish I could work out why. Anna turned up shortly thereafter, dressed very appealingly as another fairy.  Well, I say dressed, the outfit somewhat resembled an abbreviated ballet tutu with wings. Societal mores must be different here; as they were in the London I left, for nobody seemed shocked.  Aside from Aoibheann anyway, but then, much that is different from her upbringing seems to shock her.  She did surprise me, however, when she emerged from the upstairs rooms, looking delightfully elegant in a black dress that suggested feathers. Gwyn had done a marvellous job of cleaning her up and tidying her hair. It was almost as though she were a different person. I hope the compliments she received will help with her self-esteem.  Gwyn’s arrival was fortuitous as she took over manning the bar, despite being barely able to see over it, freeing me up to greet guests along with Aoibheann.

Emanuel turned up a little later, rather confusingly dressed in armour, but with a wolf mask over his face.  At least he made the effort.  This seemed to make Anna’s day, so I suspect there may be some fledgling romance going on there.  One guest I did not know and I did not know quite what to make of her costume. The appearance was of a woman in a skin-tight leather suit, onto which had been grafted purple panels that might have been some kind of body armour, along with a mask and visor over her face.  I was somewhat reminded of one of young Sprocket’s mechanical man constructions from back in London, so I addressed her as mechanical person.  I did not manage any further conversation with her, but Cristof seemed to be getting along well.

A little later, or ‘fashionably late’ as my mother sometimes would joke of certain guests, their majesties arrived. His majesty wore a splendid creation of wings, bird feet and black feathers, which ensemble put me in mind of Mr Poe’s famous poem about a raven. I said so, and he seemed pleased with the idea.  Her Majesty, on the other hand, did not have enough on to be called an ensemble.   What might possibly have been described as a much abbreviated bathing suit in a very glittery fabric barely covered those parts necessary for decency, achieving a similar amount of concealment as does Venus’ hands in Botticelli’s famous painting.  Most of the outfit appeared to be a large peacock’s tail as a train.  And I thought my outfit was draughty.  The king noticed my attention and warned me that I should not provoke him to challenging me to a duel.  I think he was joking, or I hope he was anyway. Not that I have any intention towards the queen.  Even if I had, from seeing the two of them together, she clearly only has eyes for him.  All three children were with them, so I have to assume the search for the youngest, adorably dressed as a duck, was successful.  The other two looked splendid as a dragon and a wolf.

Drinks were purchased and consumed, apples were bobbed for and a good time was had by all.  The judges, Aiobheann and Emanuel, wisely selected the children as winners of the fancy-dress competition and all was well.

Even with my accounting hat on, it was a success, for after deducting the 80 midari for supplies, we made 18 midari profits, not counting the 60 midari of room rentals.  I managed a brief conversation with the king, after he apologised for not having managed the meeting we had discussed at court. He seemed most interested in both my financial skills and my trading skills, and promised to meet with me the following day to discuss business opportunities.  I need to discuss Aoibheann’s pricing with him too, as he suggested to her that the prices of drinks needed revision.

I decided to consider it a most productive day, having completed a chapter of Serendipity Island and hosted a party, so I gave myself the rest of the night off.  Perhaps I will continue Edmund’s adventures this morning, or I could come up with some business proposals for the king.  But first, I think I deserve a walk.

Leave a Reply

