It’s a Kind of Magic

I am gratified that young Wren is settling in nicely. So far as I can tell, she is fitting in with the townsfolk and the guard look to have adopted her as one of their own, which I am sure is good for her. However, there are times when I am concerned. I suppose that is only natural. I am fond of her, and I have placed myself in the position of being in loco parentis, so it is right that I worry. In particular, I worry about what happened to her before she came to Mysthaven. She still won’t talk about it, but I am beginning to suspect that there was some sort of accident, possibly involving uncontrolled use of magic. I do not want to push her. I am sure she will tell me in time, but I still worry.

I had left a note for Maric regarding the situation with Hadley, but I wanted to get more background, so I invited Wren to join me for tea and a chat. I asked her what she thought of Hadley’s situation. Was this just a temporary ‘my parents won’t let me do anything’ phase or something deeper?

Wren was quite certain that this was not the case. Alec and Isabella had continually lied to her. Hadley didn’t know that she wasn’t completely human; she didn’t know she had magic; she had no memories of Ember and Wren even. She was sleeping all the time so she could come here and nobody even cared. Wren was afraid that she would die trying to get here or that Alec and Isabella wouldn’t teach her about her magic and she could hurt herself or others.

I didn’t know what to say at first. As much as I love Alec and Isabella, and I do still love them, despite what happened, I was not blind to their faults, but this seemed to go beyond those. Perhaps they had changed since leaving Jasper Cove, I offered, knowing that the end of the cove had been traumatic for all. Wren said that they had always lied, but maybe they lied more after Jasper Cove.

I asked more about Hadley’s magic, since she was a biological daughter rather than adopted. Wren knew that Isabella was fae, but was not sure about Alec. Having seen him in full black winged form, she thought he was maybe demonic. He had told her that he was human, but had done a lot of experiments. I managed to stifle a dry chuckle. That part at least, I told her, was true. He had been human, and he had done a lot of experiments. I thought briefly of the John Dee journal that I had neglected studying for too long. I said I wasn’t sure what he was now. I said that I suspected that he was possibly of angelic stock rather than demon, and pointed out that the two were not that far removed. She said that he didn’t seem angelic, which came across rather bitterly. I told her that Lucifer had been an angel before the Fall. Angels were not necessarily nice, I said, any more than demons were necessarily nasty, pointing to Galyanna and Vedis as examples. As far as Hadley’s magic was concerned, I suggested that it was likely mostly fae, through her mother, as Alec’s magic came from a different source, so might not be hereditary. We spoke briefly about how we would care for Hadley when she got here, and how we would take care of her magic. I had some fae in me, so I could help a little, but Gwyn might be better, once we resolved the issue of Gwyn’s conflict of interest.

I asked about Ember, since she had been mentioned. Wren did not know a lot, other than that Ember had been sent away to stay with some aunt. She and Ember used to be able to communicate telepathically, but since she had gone away, that link had been silent and she did not know how to activate it herself. Ember had always been better at the magic than she was. She didn’t know what sort of magic it was. There had been some sort of Magus, before she came to Jasper Cove, before they were adopted. They were not with this Magus willingly, but because she had killed their parents in order to steal their magic, and when they were older, had made them work for her. It was clearly something she was uncomfortable talking about, so I didn’t press the matter, thought I was curious as to how they got away.

She was equally reluctant on the matter of her magic. I offered to help her find out what it was and how to use it, to control it. She was quite adamant she didn’t want it at all. She didn’t want to use it, she wanted to neutralise it. She wanted to make it go away, to stop doing it by accident. She didn’t want anybody else to get hurt. The way she said the latter, I suspect something had happened, and that somebody had gotten hurt, badly. Again, I didn’t push the matter, but I quietly emphasised that knowing how to use it would give her the option of not using it. I mentioned the time I had bruised myself quite badly running into a wall, way back in London, when I did not know how to use my vampiric abilities. I got her to at least think about it.

I had to go then, as my other duties called, but I promised I would help her any way I could. I said I would do my best to persuade Maric to let Hadley come here. I couldn’t promise that it would work, but I would do my best.

It’s a Kind of Magic

Leave a Reply

